Modern Mediums: The Art of the Modern World

Kurt Wenner:

03_Greenpeace_Million_Signatures
Greenpeace – Million Signatures. Wenner was commissioned to design a 4,100 square foot mural in Brussels, Belgium, in order to represent the one million signatures which were presented to the European Union to petition for the end of GMO crops in November 2010.
11_Reflections
Reflections: Created in 1987 at Grazie Di Curtatone, Italy, for a Swiss-German documentary.
Northwest_Fantasy
Northwestern Fantasy: Created in San Francisco, California, April 2010.

Biography:

kurt_wenner

Kurt Wenner is an American artist who is famous for his pavement art that features 3D effects and other optical illusions. His other works include oil paintings, ceramic murals, sculptures, decorations, and architectural designs. He has also lectured at the National Museum of Singapore, The National Gallery of Art, The Smithsonian Institute, and Walt Disney Animation Studios, as well as created works for Greenpeace, Good Morning America,  Pope John Paul II, and Disneyland Paris. Kurt Wenner also worked for NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory as an advanced space illustrator, where he would conceptualize planetary landscapes with data from the Voyager spacecraft (Profile).

 

Andy Goldsworthy:

Andy_Goldsworthy-Fold1
Sheepfolds: Created in Cumbria, England, 1996-2003.
Cairn_(Andy_Goldworthy_1997)
Cairn: Created on Herring Island, Australia, 1997.
YSP_goldsworthy_07-3
Sculpture created in the Yorkshire Sculpture Park from 2007-2008.

Biography:

goldsworthy_vrfs

Andy Goldsworthy, is a British artist who is famous for his permanent and semi-permanet installations which are often created using materials found in nature, such as rocks, leaves, twigs, etc. He currently has more than 70 exhibitions/projects across the globe in areas such as the Canadian Arctic, France, London, Tochigi Prefecture Japan, and at the Getty Museum as well as the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Goldsworthy currently lives in Scotland (Guthrie).

 Theme: Modern Mediums

Both of these artists use entirely different methods and mediums to create their art. In the past, art was made to be durable and long lasting, using traditional canvases or stone to portrait the creativity of the artist. Now, artists like Wenner and Goldsworthy create pieces that are semi-permanent and are only permanently captured through photographs of these creations. Especially in the case of Wenner’s street art, with just one rain storm, his masterpieces are washed away. Overall, all of these pieces are created using non-traditional canvases, such as streets or pastures, to present the creative visions of both of these artists.

Reactions:

Personally, I am a huge fan of Kurt Wenner’s works. His street art is especially amazing as it makes use of perspective to make it seem like there are whole other worlds right below our feet. His Reflections piece is especially amazing as it combines both real and imagined elements that somehow meld to form a cohesive masterpiece. Additionally, Kurt Wenner’s architectural designs are absolutely incredible and here is a link if you wish to see them as I did not include any in this post (http://kurtwenner.com/galleries/portfolio/portfolio1.html).

I also really enjoy Andy Goldsworthy’s artwork. It is amazing how he is able to add to the natural environment in such a way that does not detract from its natural beauty, but, instead, adds to it. Even though his art may be short lived, it is still an amazing example of environmental artwork.

Overall, both the masterpieces of Kurt Wenner and Goldsworthy are spectacular additions to the art world and showcase the ever developing mediums and canvases that modern art makes use of.

Sources:

“Profile.” kurtwenner.com. n.d. Web. 5 Apr. 2016. http://kurtwenner.com/resume/ 

“Asphalt Renaissance: The Pavement Art and 3-D Illusion of Kurt Wenner.” The Telegraph. n.d. Web. 5 Apr. 2016. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/culturepicturegalleries/8928843/Asphalt-Renaissance-The-Pavement-Art-and-3-D-Illusions-of-Kurt-Wenner.html?image=9

Guthrie, Anabeth. “Andy Goldsworthy.” National Gallery of Art. n.d. 5 Apr. 2016. http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/press/2004/andy-goldsworthy/andy-goldsworthy-bio.html

4 thoughts on “Modern Mediums: The Art of the Modern World

  1. I love Kurt Wenner’s work! I’ve enjoyed optical illusions like that. I enjoy all three of his works that you shared, but I think I enjoy Northwestern Fantasy the most, just because it is a fantasy and I feel like I’m looking into another world. Goldsworthy’s stuff is pretty cool too, but I don’t enjoy it as much as Wenner’s. Nice blog!

    Like

  2. I enjoyed all the works you displayed! I hadn’t heard of any of the artists you used, but I am happy that you introduced them to me. I enjoyed your links to see more, and I thought that was a great thing to include in your blog. I am amazed at the perspective and creative genius that these artists have to be able to create these unique pieces. I think this is great example of how the Modern Era explores new frontiers and mediums. I would’ve liked if your reactions were with each piece, but I think it was a fantastic blog!

    Like

  3. I really like the artist you chose for your exhibit! For my blog I did street art as my theme, I had an artist that also did 3D street murals. I think they are fascinating; the illusion that perception creates can seem so real. I like viewing pictures of the work from different perspectives so you can see how different the shading and angles look from different vantage points. I would love to see these kinds of 3D work in person; I have seen one, when I visited Italy there was an illusion of a dome on the ceiling of a cathedral. It would be cool to see some that are on the street so you can walk right up to them.

    Like

  4. I really liked the 3D street art that you displayed! It is really fascinating to see how people can paint in such a neat way. I’d love to go see it in person honestly just to capture the emotions and atmosphere that it displays. I would love to travel the world someday, when we are all rich and famous, and be able to see all the different art pieces in person and all the different cultures and personalities! I especially love colors so when I see so many that will definitely catch my eye for sure, so great exhibit! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment